For quite some time, folks have been asking me to start a blog about my organic spa and body products, and though I was flattered, I really didn’t think there would be enough for me to write about on a regular basis.  Mostly, my day-to-day efforts are focused on running my business, dreaming of new products to make, trying to live as fully as possible while leaving as small an environmental footprint as possible, and trying to squeeze some traveling in here or there.  In a nutshell, I’m probably kinda boring.  And although my ongoing passion for creating and formulating new and fun products for my company is certainly fascinating enough to me, I wasn’t sure anybody out in the real world would want to hear about it.

Slowly, though, I began compiling little notes about the questions I receive over and over…mostly from customers, many of them from my own workers, friends and family.  The growing trend to “go green” has brought with it more new companies and products trying to capitalize on the trend than ever.  With them comes more competition, yes, but also a lot more confusion for the general public who are, perhaps in varying degrees, just getting used to the idea and are trying to untangle the truth from all of that marketing hype.  Magazines and news media have jumped on the bandwagon, trying to give “green tips” and feature “green products”, but I often see them, in their zest to inform but limited time for research, relaying a lot of misinformation and perpetuating a lot of the confusion.  If the reporters don’t understand the differences between “organic”, “natural”, “certified organic”, “wildcrafted”, “fair trade” and “all natural” (indeed–not many of us do), how can they educate their readers and viewers in the concept?

And so, I decided that I would just start talking with you about what I know.  If it’s not of interest to you, then you don’t have to read it, right?  But if some of you are curious about how I formulate my products, how I choose ingredients, what “natural” truly means, how the organic certification process works (as we at WoodSprite go through it ourselves) why I have such a passionate commitment to my definition of purity, environmental topics as well as some fun things like polls, advance peeks at new products and ideas we’re working on, green living tips and heck–what’s the world without recipes–a recipe or two, then I will do my best to make it worth your while.

One of the ongoing features of the blog will be a daily tip about how to make life just a little greener in small and large ways.  It’s called “365 Ways to Live Earth Day, Everyday” and I hope you find it fun and helpful.

Today’s Way:  New Life for an Old Phone…I’ve had a few friends mention that they need a new cell or cordless phone because they’ll no longer hold a charge.  But there’s no reason to throw the baby out with the bathwater (or the phone into the landfill); you can find a replacement rechargeable battery pack for nearly every model of phone out there at a fraction of the cost of purchasing a new phone.  I’ve found great deals on Amazon and Ebay, for even my ancient phones, at as little as $5 each.  Just remember, when you swap out the old battery, be sure to contact your local recycling authority to arrange for proper disposal or recycling.

Thanks for reading, and I look forward to sharing with you next time!

Jacquelyn Ramsey, Founder & President of WoodSprite Organic Body

